Last week, the Corps of Engineers announced the appointment of 11 new members of the Inland Waterways Users Board (IWUB), effective Jan. 31. 

IWUB operations were suspended in February 2021 as a result of Department of Defense's zero-based review of all DOD federal advisory committees. The appointment of the new members is the final action necessary to reinstate IWUB activities.

The Corps of Engineers is the proponent for and provides support to the IWUB, a federal advisory committee. The IWUB’s purpose is to make recommendations to Congress and the secretary of the Army on priorities and spending from the Inland Waterways Trust Fund for the construction and rehabilitation of projects on the inland waterways system.

The 11-member IWUB represents six geographic regions on the inland waterways system. Composition of the IWUB reflects a balanced inland navigation industry representation, including shipper and carrier members from companies of different sizes and transporting a variety of the primary waterborne commodities.

The following are the 11 new representative organizations and their representatives that now serve on the IWUB:

•    American Commercial Barge Line (ACBL), Martin Hettel.
•    Bruce Oakley Inc., Dennis Oakley.
•    Canal Barge Company, Spencer Murphy.
•    Cargill Inc., Jeff Webb.
•    CGB Enterprises, Lance Rase.
•    Continental Cement Co., David Loomes.
•    Ingram Barge Co., Daniel Mecklenborg.

New members of the Inland Waterways Users Board:

•    Kirby Corp., Matt Woodruff.
•    Marquette Transportation Co., Damon Judd.
•    SCF Marine Inc., Tim Power.
•    Shaver Transportation Co., Rob Rich.

Murphy will serve as the new IWUB chairman.

For more information about the Inland Waterways Users Board, please visit